Why I Have Become a Freelancer in Digital Marketing

Zaizen Yuta
3 min readSep 24, 2020

--

I used to work at a company from April 2014 to April 2019, but I have become a digital marketing freelancer since May 2019.

“Why did you become a freelancer?”

If you are a freelancer, you must be asked this question by many people; in fact, they always ask me it.

I will explain why I have become a freelancer.

3 reasons to become a freelancer

(1)To come back to Beppu city, which is my hometown

Oita Prefecture(Source: 別府市は何県?)
Beppu city in Oita Prefecture(Source: 別府市は何県?)

I like to go to travel within Japan, especially places which has a lot of nature: ex.)the sea, mountains, waterfalls, hot springs

So I have decided to move from Tokyo to the places.

At first I didn’t think Beppu as the place, so I started to find out them from scratch.

As a result of finding out, I realized that I wanted the place 3 conditions. (1)the sea (2)mountains (3)hot springs

…I remembered that Beppu had all three: It is near Beppu Bay, Mount Tsurumi(*1), and has a lot of hot springs(*2).

(*1)Mount Tsurumi is a volcano in Beppu.

(*2)In japan, Beppu is famous for hot springs city.

So I have decided to come back there.

sunrise in Beppu Bay
Mount Tsurumi
hot spring in front of Beppu station

(2)Low salaries in Beppu

After I decided, I started to find out digital-marketing companies in Beppu, but I realized that there are few companies in Beppu.

I discovered few companies, but they pay me much cheaper salaries than in Tokyo because an unit price in Beppu is much cheaper than in Tokyo(*).

(*)For example, if you work at a company as an Internet Advertising consultant, an unit price per month is about 200,000-250,000yen.

(3)To work remotely

In order to keep an unit price in Tokyo, So I decided to do business with companies in Tokyo remotely because I keep an unit price in Tokyo.

I deciced it in March 2019, so I reported to previous company that I would resign the company in April 2019, and I have became a freelancer in May 2019.

Many Japanese may want to come back their hometowns, but it is so cheaper salaries than Tokyo that it is difficult to come back.

So I recommend Japanese to come back there and go business with companies in Tokyo remotely.

Please feel free to contact me on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn if you have trouble about digital marketing.

--

--

Zaizen Yuta

I am a freelancer in digital marketing. I am good at B2B Lead Generation and Lead Nurturing.