We Should Learn From Golgo in “Golgo 13” Because He Doesn’t Become a Slave of His Clients

Zaizen Yuta
3 min readOct 2, 2020

--

I wrote “I’m Similar to Enel in “One Piece” in That We Haven’t Aimed for Pirate King” before because it is easy to explain my thoughts or ideas by analogy to famous works such as “One Piece”.

In the same way, I will explain them by analogy to “Golgo 13”.

Golgo doesn’t have a will to change or lead the world

Golgo 13, who is a freelance sniper, snipes at his targets by orders of his clients: a lot of targets are human, but sometimes aren’t human.

Golgo usually accepts orders for killing V.I.P.s from each country, so he is a trump for them because they can kill V.I.P.s in enemy countries with him, and is also trouble for them because they may be killed by him. He affects the world politics yet he is an individual.

However, he doesn’t have a will to change or lead the world. He doesn’t kill others because of his will. He only kills targets by orders from his clients.

I’m similar to him in that we doesn’t have a will although I’m not as excellent as him. I don’t have a will to change or lead the world, and do business by orders for his clients.

Golgo doesn’t accept orders when they can’t achieve a purpose

Golgo seems to accept any orders, but he doesn’t: in contrast, he chooses jobs by his rules.

In particular, he doesn’t accept orders if they can’t accept a purpose even if he accepts them: me too.

Golgo answered that he would accept the order if he could confirm that they were truly imposters.

This is episode “The Howls of Delos”, which is episode 2 in volume 1 in“Golgo 13”.

Golgo’s client asked him to kill imposters of the wife and child of the French Secretary of Defense because it is dangerous for the French Secretary of Defense to meet them again. Golgo answered that he would accept the order if he could confirm that they were truly imposters.

It seemed that it wasn’t necessary for him to confirm because his client said they were imposters, but he tried to confirm.

I suppose the reasons although He didn’t explain them: this order was on the condition that the wife and child were imposters, and its purpose was not to meet again to the French Secretary of Defense, so its means was to kill them. If the condition was wrong, in other words they weren’t imposters, it wasn’t necessary to achieve the purpose, so it wasn’t necessary for him to accept the order.

In other words, Golgo doesn’t turn a means into a purpose: he thinks backwards from the purpose and accepts an order for his clients.

You may think that it is natural not to turn a means into a purpose, but if you accept orders from your clients, you must have experience that you couldn’t refuse orders although your clients turn a means into a purpose: Golgo doesn’t accept them at all.

Golgo doesn’t become a slave of his clients

Golgo has some rules that his clients must pay him money in advance, they must explain reasons for their orders to him, they must be killed by him if they betray him: their common point is that Golgo doesn’t become a slave of his clients.

It is ideal that clients are equal with contractors in that they are business partners, but in reality, clients are often in a stronger position than contractors because clients pay money to contractors.

However, Golgo doesn’t accept orders if they are against his rules even if clients are big clients such as CIA, KGB. He requests his clients to be equal with him.

I have less one-shot orders unlike Golgo, so my clients sometimes ask me orders which is against my rules even if not at first. I accept orders if there is unavoidable reasons, but if not, I refuse orders or ask my clients to end a contract. I want to behave like Golgo.

Please feel free to contact me on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn if you have trouble about digital marketing.

--

--

Zaizen Yuta

I am a freelancer in digital marketing. I am good at B2B Lead Generation and Lead Nurturing.